Artist Of The Month – Armin Van Buuren (December 2018)

Armin Van Buuren

This man needs no introduction. And rightfully so, this legendary figure continues to command his position as one of trance and electronic dance music’s biggest and most renowned names over the past two decades. As you might have guessed by now, we’re indeed talking about the one and only, Armin Van Buuren. What has turned out to be yet another massive year for electronic music throughout the globe, we’re all set to bring this year’s chapter to a close by putting the spotlight on unarguably, one of the greatest names ever to be a part of the scene. As the Dutch heavyweight gets ready to make his way back to the Indian sub-continent later this month for his headlining performance at Sunburn Festival, please welcome our Artist Of The Month for December 2018, Armin Van Buuren.

While many recognise him for his iconic ASOT (A State Of Trance) radio show and some of his biggest global hits in recent times including ‘Another You’, ‘I Need You’, ‘Sunny Days’, ‘Sex, Love & Water’, ‘Therapy’, ‘Blah Blah Blah’ amongst others, Armin Van Buuren’s beginnings date back to the late 90s when he kicked off his illustrious career with the release of his debut single, ‘Push’ in 1996. What followed soon after was the release of his breakout track, ‘Blue Fear’ in 1997. As Armin continued to push his way through during the earlier part of his career, listeners were treated to cuts like ‘Communication’ which also appeared on his 2003-released debut studio album ‘76’.

In 1999 and 2000, Armin Van Buuren dished out several releases including cuts like ‘Free’ and ‘Touch Me’ under his Gimmick and Rising Star alias. With the debut of his Alibi and Major League projects with Tiesto in 2000 which saw them put out tracks like ‘Eternity’ and ‘Wonder Where You Are?’, he also shared his highly acclaimed collaboration with Ferry Corsten, ‘Exhale’ and debuted his alias Gaia with the release of ‘4 Elements’, which now consists of two members, including Armin and Benno de Goeij.

Come 2001, the Dutch act finally brought his now iconic radio show, A State Of Trance to life in March. Later that year, he also debuted the track ‘The Sound Of Goodbye’ as Perpetuous Dreamer. Armin Van Buuren went on release his debut album, ‘76’ in 2003 which boasted of iconic cuts like ‘Yet Another Day’, ‘Burned with Desire’, amongst other tracks. During their period, he also introduced his hit remix of ‘The Longest Day’. During that year, Armin also launched his very own label, Armada Music along with Maykel Piron and David Lewis.

In 2005, Armin came out all guns blazing as he not only completed 200 episodes of A State Of Trance, but also went on to release his second LP, ‘Shivers’ which featured collaborations with Nadia Ali, Justine Suissa, Gabriel & Dresden amongst others. With releases like ‘Control Freak’, ‘Love You More’, ‘Rush Hour’ and many more which paved his way forward, 2007 witnessed Armin being crowned as the #1 DJ in the world as part of the DJ Mag Top 100 DJs rankings. Next came his third album, ‘Imagine’ which spawned tracks like ‘Going Wrong’, ‘In and Out of Love’ and ‘Unforgivable’. With his ever growing success which continued to scale new heights, he went on to be crowned as the World’s #1 DJ for the third consecutive year in 2009.

2010 brought upon the release of his highly acclaimed album, ‘Mirage’ which was also followed by the Armin Only World Tour. As his globally loved radio show, A State Of Trance crossed the mammoth landmark of completing 500 episodes in 2011, Armin delivered five exceptional live shows across the globe in celebration of this huge feat. While 2012 saw him reclaim his #1 spot on the DJ Mag Top 100 DJs rankings, listeners were also graced by several other memorable releases like ‘Youtopia’ and ‘We Are Here To Make Some Noise’.

In 2013, the iconic act served up his fifth studio album, ‘Intense’ which also housed some of his biggest hits till date including the Grammy nominated single, ‘This Is What It Feels Like’, ‘Waiting For The Night’, ‘Beautiful Life’ amongst others. With the success of other tracks like ‘D# Fat’ with W&W, ‘Save My Night’ and ‘Ping Pong’, Armin continued to dominate festival stages around the globe.

Armin Van Buuren

One of dance music’s busiest DJs, Armin Van Buuren headlines more than 150 shows in a calendar year at some of the world’s biggest festivals and clubs. With appearances at festivals like Tomorrowland, Ultra Music Festival, Electric Daisy Carnival and many more, the Armada bossman continues to enthrall audiences with his energetic performances till date. And in case you needed some more proof regarding his love for music, then it certainly needs to be known that Armin still serves as A&R of Armada’s very own sub imprints, Armind, Who’s Afraid Of 138?! , and A State of Trance.

In 2015, Armin marked the arrival of his sixth studio album ‘Embrace’ which was led by the release of his first single, ‘Another You’ with Mr Probz. Later that year, he also unveiled his mighty remix of Game of Thrones’ official theme composed by Ramin Djawadi, alongside the release of other collaborations with the likes of Hardwell, Cosmic Gate, W&W, Jean Michel Jarre and many more.

What followed next was the return of his iconic Armin Only world tour in support of his latest LP which took place throughout the globe throughout 2015 and 2016. Next came the unveil of his mammoth ‘Old Skool’ EP which housed in one of 2016’s biggest tunes, ‘Dominator’ with Human Resource alongside other tracks like ‘The Ultimate Seduction’ and ‘Pull Over’. Eventually, Armin brought 2016 to a fantastic close with the release of the official ASOT 800 anthem, ‘I Live For That Energy’ and ‘Great Spirit’ alongside Vini Vici and The Hilight Tribe.

While the superstar act may have faced flak in recent years over his shift from trance to exploring more festival ready sounds, Armin’s legacy has remained intact with the consistent onslaught of releases and live performances around the globe. In 2017, Armin Van Buuren took over the Amsterdam Arena to host his The Best Of Armin Only show to commemorate the 20th anniversary of his career which was also accompanied by the release of a compilation album. Furthermore, with releases like ‘I Need You’, ‘Sunny Days’, ‘You Are’ with Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano throughout 2017, he managed to secure yet another successful year before stepping into 2018.

And now with 2018 set to come to a monumental close for Armin Van Buuren, the legendary name can certainly tick off yet another successful year which saw him release his fan favourite ‘Blah Blah Blah’ EP led by its titular cut, alongside other tracks like ‘The Last Dancer’, ‘Just As You Are’ and ‘Popcorn’. With other brilliant releases like ‘Sex, Love & Water’, ‘Our Origin’ with Shapov, ‘Wild Wild Son’ and his most recent collaboration, ‘Ready To Rave’ with W&W, the Dutch act has made sure to keep the music coming for his fans around the globe. Additionally, he also delivered a record breaking seven hour long headlining performance at Untold Festival in Romania earlier this year.

With all eyes on AVB himself as he gets ready to shut down 2018 with some of his highly anticipated end of the year performances, we can’t wait to see what Armin has in store for us in 2019.