Bangin Beats’ Top 10 Tracks Of 2017 (Editor’s Pick)

Top 10 Tracks of 2017

The dance music spectrum is undeniably, diverse and extremely huge. And while numerous creations from the genre, make its way towards the mainstream, there’s no denying that electronic music at its core continued to grow stronger this year with more people becoming eager enough to discover! And after sharing our Top 10 tracks of 2017 yesterday, we at Bangin Beats have decided to bring you the Editor’s Pick for the Top 10 tracks of 2017.

Read on.


10. Steve Angello feat. T.D. Jakes – RejoiceSteve Angello Rejoice

Steve Angello’s constant drive to create art from music has been slowly paying its dividends. The Swede’s debut studio album, ‘Wild Youth’, marked its first step in the direction, and now Angello is furthering his cause with his latest releases. His first release of the year came in the form of the 2 track EP ‘Genesis’, which also featured the powerful single ‘Rejoice’. Featuring powerful sermons from Bishop T.D. Jakes over gritty modular synth hooks, the track seeks to uplift and inspire. And it does so, in quite the cinematic manner.


9. George FitzGerald – BurnsGeorge FitzGerald Burns

One of UK’s finest, George FitzGerald has been one of the key figures within the underground dance music scene for over half a decade. After garnering major success with his 2015-released debut album ‘Fading Love‘, the renowned producer returned to action in 2017 with his brand new single, ‘Burns’. Securing a well-deserved spot in our Top 10, the spell binding effort sees George maintain course on his exploration of new sounds. Led by ethereal vocal chants which transcend towards a gripping progressive melody, the proceedings take a remarkable return as the ‘Full Circle‘ hit maker conjures up a hypnotic blend of melancholic and club-ready sounds for a surreal experimental tune which hits home.


8. Bonobo feat. Nick Murphy – No Reason Bonobo No Reason

Bonobo’s sixth studio album, ‘Migration’, was incredibly well received by critics and fans alike. With some genre bending production that came to the fore, the album was a quintessential Bonobo record through and through, but there was one track that caught the attention of many, including ours. ‘No Reason’, a collaboration with Nick Murphy (previously known as Chet Faker), was easily the pick off the LP, as the track seamlessly brought together both the artist’s musical styles in a way that complimented their sounds.


7. Jeremy Olander – GalheeraJeremy Olander Galheera

The Swedes have always stuck to their guns! And Jeremy Olander is certainly amongst one of our favourite acts who has managed to keep us hooked to his creations for more than half a decade now. Known for his signature take on progressive house, the former protege of Eric Prydz celebrated the 10th release of his label Vivrant in 2017 with his brilliant 4-track Gattaca EP. And rightfully so, the talented producer/DJ finds a spot in our Top 10 with the otherworldly EP cut ‘Galheera‘.


6. BICEP – GlueBICEP Glue

UK-based duo BICEP hit a home run in 2017 with the unveil of their self-titled debut album! But surrounding all the hype around their landmark release was their striking LP cut ‘Glue’. Having already become a fan favourite around the world, the breakbeat-influenced single arrived as an ode to the infamous UK rave culture. Energetic, yet equally emotive in every sense, their mesmerizing creation is a nostalgic sonic ride which we just haven’t been able to get enough of till now.


5. Cristoph – EpochCristoph EPOCH

Cristoph seems to have solidified his position as one of Eric Prydz’s favourite artists in 2017. This year saw the Geordie DJ/producer support Prydz at a number of his shows, as well as bag the opportunity to release two singles ‘Feel’ and ‘Epoch’ on the Swede’s new record label, Pryda Presents. While both the singles were brilliant in their own right, ‘Epoch’ managed to catch our attention with its driving basslines, gritty synths and elements of acid sprinkled throughout, coupled with hypnotic vocal hooks. We can see why Cristoph is held in high regard by Mr. Eric Prydz.


4. The xx – On Hold (Jamie xx Remix)On Hold Jamie xx Remix

What had been a long time coming indeed, Jamie xx finally decided to officially release his highly awaited remix of The xx‘s single ‘On Hold‘ in September of this year! Bringing his band closer to the dancefloor, his dreamy, yet powerful rework saw him deliver a dose of what he does best. Conjuring up a breezy, yet striking production work besides completely changing the original’s dynamic, the famed beatmaker proved once again why he is renowned as one of today’s finest talents.


3. ODESZA – Late NightODESZA Late Night

ODESZA fans had been waiting for new music from the duo for nearly 3 years, and boy, did they come through with two new singles, ‘Line of Sight’ and ‘Late Night’. While the former hinged a bit towards the future bass trend, ‘Late Night’ was a classic ODESZA production all around. With its dreamy, feel good vibes and that absolutely gorgeous music video, the track just wants you to take a road trip and experience life at its fullest.


2. Theo Schmitt – The Game (Lunar Plane Remix)The Game Lunar Plane Remix

One of the most slept on tracks of 2017, Lunar Plane’s remix of Theo Schmitt’s ‘The Game’ cemented its spot on our Top 10 upon its release in June! Taking on the German heavyweight’s stellar single, the Berlin-based identical twins stellar rework is a complete showcase of their impeccable skills. A powerful production effort which shines through, the dancefloor-ready take on the track is a thrilling, mysterious ride which strikes a perfect balance between rich melodies and its darker counterparts. Accompanied by a solid bassline and sturdy kicks, the track keeps listeners on the edge till the end with its engrossing composition.


1. Pryda – Stay With MePryda Stay With Me

2017 might have been a rather slow year for Eric Prydz in terms of releasing new music, but that doesn’t mean the Swede didn’t have any quality releases. His final release of the year came in the form of ‘Stay With Me’, and it did perfect justice to his Pryda alias. Thumping basslines, Trance-esque synths, driving snare lines and vocal samples all of which culminate into a hypnotic listening experience, ‘Stay With Me’ arrived as one of the most highly awaited IDs from Prydz’s vastly expansive arsenal, and has officially bagged the #1 spot in our Top 10 list of the best tracks of the year.


Written by: Pranav Gupta and Rajrishi Murthi