EXCLUSIVE: Indian Collective Jwala Blow Up The Roof With Their Latest Compilation ‘Waveform’

Jwala 006 Waveform

2017 feels like the year that keeps on giving! While it truly has been a phenomenal year for India’s burgeoning electronic music scene, Jwala have been one of the biggest takeaways from all the action that has taken place till now. The rising Indian collective brought to life by eight of the country’s most promising acts have now served up its sixth monthly compilation. With ‘Waveform‘, Jwala is seen entering bass music territory for what might be their first genre-focused effort! But don’t let that distract you because things only get more exciting and ruthless with each track.

A 6-track project that is led by a raucous opener, ‘Sake Shot‘ by Karan Kanchan and BrijPlease aka Brij Dalvi does an excellent job of shaking things up. Relentless in their approach, the eclectic new creation is propelled by Karan’s signature J-trap sounds before breaking into a brief, yet highly explosive hardcore section during the latter half that only comes off as a sign of what lies next. Next up is a prized VIP of talented duo Three Oscillators‘ previously released track ‘Ghettobeat‘ that has now been hotly served. An explosive rendition of the wonky original, they have given their unique effort a looming energy that is poised to blow up headphones and dancefloors alike.

Mumbai-based producer hollow. makes sure to deliver the goods on his second consecutive appearance on Jwala’s monthly compilation as the rising act’s latest effort ‘Dimensions‘ makes its presence felt with its enticing production work. OV3RDRIVE comes out all guns blazing for his Jwala debut with ‘You Don’t Even‘, that is accompanied by a pounding, hefty dose of bass, and is neatly assisted by pulsating synths. A wild ride into the sonic jungle which throws listeners off the path throughout the proceedings, the 17-year old talent is the one to watch out for.

For the compilation’s penultimate treat, Suvam Debnath rises to the occasion once again, but this time under his bass-oriented alias Loscale to offer us with an absolute belter of a tune. Titled ‘Assault‘, the heavy hitter certainly lives up to its name as an all out assault to listeners’ senses. And lastly, in order to let everyone catch a breath, Mystery Touch dish out their melancholic, yet highly cinematic original ‘About Time‘, which puts an end to ‘Waveform‘ perfectly.

At the heart of it all, their latest compilation certainly delivers when it comes to providing the audience with a collection of loud and equally enjoyable tracks! But most importantly, it sees them break out of their own mould which was slowly setting into place over the course of their recent releases, and highlight the multifaceted sound of Jwala.

Listen to ‘Waveform‘ below.