EXCLUSIVE: Listen To Indian Collective Jwala’s Sophomore Compilation ‘Flame Of The Forest’

Jwala Flame Of The Forest

Back in June, India’s growing electronic music community was introduced to a brand new collective named Jwala. Formed by a bunch of self-taught, internet raised producers from around the country, we were blown away by their debut compilation ‘Where There’s Smoke’. After receiving an incredible reception in record time, we are proud to present you with Jwala’s brand new compilation ‘Flame Of The Forest’.

A 9-track project clocking in just over 35 minutes, it not only boasts of new music from members Three Oscillators, Ayush. and Moebius, but also features contributions from fellow Indian producers Cosmic Attic, Echofloat, Sews alongside fairly new names Debo, Mug£n, aimsir. and more.

Kicking off the proceedings for their second ever outing is ‘Seashore’. An ethereal collaboration between Three Oscillators and Adence, the ambient, melody-driven work is an emotional ride which sounds like the perfect soundtrack to your hazy evenings. Mumbai-based producer Mug£n aka Suvam Debnath makes sure to leave his mark with ‘Mellow Feelings’. A dreamy sonic treat which boasts of all the glitters and sparkles, the track shines through with its gorgeous, melodic bursts.

As we move forward, Yatharth Vibhakar aka aimsir. steals the spotlight with ‘Yūgen’. A tense, yet thrilling tune which captures listeners’ attention with its abstract sonic detailing, Ayush. takes us to his own ‘Utopia’, which truly is a colourful, yet serene cinematic delight. The musical alias of Jeff Nelson aka Echofloat makes up for a worthy addition who brings out listeners to his sonic playground with ‘Sunset Nectar’.

Pune-based producer Debojyoti Sanyal aka Debo’s ‘Panchali’ starts off simply led by melodies and rhythms, before being blanketed by layer upon layer of complexity as they progress. One of the most unique creations to come out of the compilation, Moebius returns to action with ‘Paradiso’. As we inch closer towards the final stretch, Sharath Narayan aka Cosmic Attic switches things up with his latest offering. Titled ‘Brew’, it certainly stands out as strikingly experimental, and sounds like the final result of a significant stylistic deviation. At the end of it all, New Delhi-based trap producer Sews finds himself a well-deserved spot on the compilation with his collaborative effort ‘Colombian Necktie’ alongside fellow act Adken. A heavy number which bangs out hard, the raucous new creation makes sure to cater to the listeners’ bass needs.

Talking about their latest compilation, Jwala said in a statement:

“Our idea of jwala is to integrate as many people as we can, and this compilation is our first step in that direction. It features some of our favourite producers around, apart from some of us.”

Flames Of The Forest’ explores the length and breadth of the genre, and also stands out as a masterful creation which manages to find cohesion among its sonic extremes. Not only does their latest body of work offer us a deeper look into each individual’s musical mind, but also is a nod to Jwala’s ethos which echoes throughout this impressive form of creative expression. Crafted by some of the most promising talents within the Indian electronic landscape, Jwala’s latest effort is a subtle reminder to why they are the ones to watch out for!

Stream ‘Flame Of The Forest’ in its entirety below.